points by Aurornis 9 hours ago | 0 comments
Confusing headline. They scanned for repos where people had committed their .claude/ folder and local settings and then scanned those files for commands which contained keys or passwords.
So pressing “Don’t Ask Again” by itself doesn’t expose passwords by itself. If you commit your local Claude settings and in those settings you have manually approved commands containing secrets directly in the command and then you publish the repo, that’s exposed.
[–] shmulc 9 hours ago
[–] Aurornis 7 hours ago
A fresh clone wouldn’t have the file. This claim doesn't make any sense.
The only way I can see this getting committed is if someone edited their global .gitignore or, more likely, did a whole directory transfer to do a different machine to work on.
[–] shmulc 6 hours ago
[–] rendaw 1 hour ago
[–] kccqzy 7 hours ago
Anyways this probably indicates that these repos don’t have a good code review process. The settings.local.json file name screams it’s local and shouldn’t be committed.
[–] pastel8739 2 hours ago
[–] cassianoleal 8 hours ago
[–] Aurornis 8 hours ago
[–] kragen 7 hours ago