points by rubyfan 18 hours ago | 0 comments
How does one disable this?
[–] mmooss 14 hours ago
[–] saagarjha 1 hour ago
Have you actually tried doing this?
[–] rbn3 18 hours ago
you can't
[–] verytrivial 18 hours ago
"It's for you own good. It would be harmful to disable it. And you don't understand it so you shouldn't have an opinion. I trust Apple to do this safely, even if I don't want whatever this is."
Is how I'm generally greeted when I ask this sort of question.
Turn off your Mac and use a different operating system. Because it doesn't matter how you disable this feature in isolation. It is merely the current projection of Apple's opinion of its relationship with you. It's a hydra and you are going to lose the fight.
[–] bel8 17 hours ago
or "grandma needs this to just work, Apple knows better"
[–] kibwen 18 hours ago
By using an OS that doesn't view you as cattle to be milked and eventually sent to the slaughterhouse.
Disable the daemons, delete the directory, lock down permissions to the database files / directory, lock down the daemons' permissions, delete the daemons, ...
I'm not recommending those things - I don't know what the consequence is for the system - but that's where I'd start.